Like this page? Click here:
Previous Title - Star Trek: Voyager - Season 3 Return to Full Title List Next Title - Star Trek: Voyager - Season 5

Star Trek: Voyager - Season 4 [1997] (7 discs)

Composer:Jerry Goldsmith
Length:1170 minutes
(19 hours 30 minutes)
MPAA Rating:UR
Sorting Category:Star Trek TV
Sorting Tub:Mike
IMDB Rating:7.3/10
Amazon Rating:4.5/5 stars
User rating sites like above
are subject to change
Google Videos
  • Action
  • Drama
  • Sci-Fi
  • Family
Available Formats:
HD DVDBlu-ray
3D Blu-rayDigital
Check for a possible RiffTrax
Click here to see list

Synopsis: A new crew member causes culture clash among the crew.

Reaction: Enter Seven of Nine.

Personal Rating: 7/10

"Message in a Bottle" and "Living Witness"

Select Guest Cast
Alan Altshuld => Lumas (Day of Honor)
Alexander Enberg => Ensign Vorik (Day of Honor)
Kevin Stillwell => Moklor (Day of Honor)
Michael Krawic => Rhamin (as Michael A. Krawic) (Day of Honor)
Andy Dick => EMH-2 Dr. Bradley (Message in a Bottle)
Judson Scott => Cmdr. Rekar (Message in a Bottle)
Tiny Ron => Alpha-Hirogen Idrin (Message in a Bottle)
Tony Sears => Starfleet Officer (as Anthony Sears) (Message in a Bottle)
Annette Helde => Takar (Scientific Method)
Rosemary Forsyth => Alzen (Scientific Method)
Booth Colman => Penno (Nemesis)
Matt Levin => Rafin (Nemesis)
Nathan Anderson => Namon (Nemesis)
Pancho Demmings => Kradin Soldier (Nemesis)
Terrence Evans => Ambassador Treen (Nemesis)
Brian Fitzpatrick => Tedran, Kyrian Rebel Leader (Living Witness)
Henry Woronicz => Quarren (Living Witness)
Brooke Stephens => Naomi Wildman (Mortal Coil)
Robin Stapler => Alixia (Mortal Coil)
Clint Carmichael => Hirogen Hunter (Prey)
Tony Todd => Alpha Hirogen (Prey)
Dan Butler => Tom Paris / Steth (Vis À Vis)
Mary Elizabeth McGlynn => Daelen / Steth (Vis À Vis)
Danny Goldring => Alpha Hirogen / Nazi Commandant (The Killing Game: Part 1)
J. Paul Boehmer => German SS Officer (The Killing Game: Part 1)
Mark Deakins => Hirogen SS Officer (The Killing Game: Part 1)
Paul Eckstein => Young Hirogen (as Paul S. Eckstein) (The Killing Game: Part 1)
David Anthony Marshall => Magnus Hansen, Annika's Father (Scorpion: Part 2)
Erica Lynn Duncan => Annika Hansen (as Erica Lynne Bryan) (Scorpion: Part 2)
Nikki Tyler-Flynn => Annika Hansen's Mother (Scorpion: Part 2)
David Keith Anderson => Ensign Ashmore (Year of Hell: Part 1)
John Loprieno => Obrist (Year of Hell: Part 1)
Kurtwood Smith => Annorax (Year of Hell: Part 1)
Peter Marx => Krenim Commandant (as Peter Slutsker) (Year of Hell: Part 1)
Gwynyth Walsh => Chief Examiner Nimira (Random Thoughts)
Jack Shearer => Admiral Hayes (Hope and Fear)
Ray Wise => Arturis (Hope and Fear)
Jeff Austin => Allos (The Omega Directive)
Kevin McCorkle => Alien Captain (The Omega Directive)
John Rhys-Davies => Leonardo da Vinci (as John Rhys Davies) (Concerning Flight)
Leland Orser => Dejaren (Revulsion)
Lise Simms => Annorax's Wife (Year of Hell: Part 2)
Mark Colson => Dream Alien (Waking Moments)
Michael Canavan => Curneth (Unforgettable)
Virginia Madsen => Kellin (Unforgettable)
Michael Horton => Kovin (Retrospect)
Ron Ostrow => Borg Drone (One)
Wade Williams => Trajis Lo-Tarik (One)
Alexander Singer => Director
Allan Eastman => Director
Allan Kroeker => Director
Andrew Robinson => Director
Anson Williams => Director
David Livingston => Director
Jesús Salvador Treviño => Director
Kenneth Biller => Director / Writer
LeVar Burton => Director
Michael Vejar => Director
Nancy Malone => Director
Tim Russ => Director / Tuvok
Victor Lobl => Director
Winrich Kolbe => Director
André Bormanis => Writer
Brannon Braga => Writer
Bryan Fuller => Writer
Greg Elliot => Writer
Jeri Taylor => Writer
Jimmy Diggs => Writer
Joe Menosky => Writer
Lisa Klink => Writer
Michael Perricone => Writer
Robert Doherty => Writer
Steve J. Kay => Writer
Jerry Goldsmith => Composer
Gene Roddenberry => Creator, Original Series
Alexander Enberg => Ensign Vorik
Ethan Phillips => Neelix
Garrett Wang => Harry Kim
Jennifer Lien => Kes
Jeri Ryan => Seven of Nine
Kate Mulgrew => Captain Kathryn Janeway
Majel Barrett => Voyager Computer
Nancy Hower => Ensign Samantha Wildman
Robert Beltran => Chakotay
Robert Duncan McNeill => Tom Paris
Robert Picardo => The Doctor
Roxann Dawson => B'Elanna Torres
Tarik Ergin => Lieutenant Ayala

Random Trivia For This Title:

  • Early in planning, Michael Dorn's character of Lieutenant Worf from [Star Trek: The Next Generation] had been suggested as being part of the Voyager crew. The idea was dropped when Dorn chose not to pursue the role. However, he did continue to play his Worf character on [Star Trek: Deep Space Nine] as well as in the [TNG] films.
  • Thus far, all five [Star Trek] series have featured at least one character who is the first of their species in Starfleet. This series has at least two, Seven of Nine is the first Borg and the Doctor the first hologram. Neelix and Kes also served specific functions on the ship, but were never formally inducted.
  • The number 47 pops up many times on computer screens, serial numbers, dates and so on. This tradition was started by writer/co-producer Joe Menosky and was soon picked up by the rest of the production team. Menosky said that he choose that particular number because when he was a graduate student at Pomona College, the professor of mathematics, [?] Donald Bentley proved as a joke that all numbers are equal to 47.
  • Jeri Ryan turned down the role of Seven of Nine four times; she only accepted the part after repeated lobbying by executive producer Jeri Taylor.
  • The episode {Year of Hell} was inspired greatly by [?] Jules Verne's 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea. The name of the character Annorax was derived from the main character of that story, Pierre Aronnax.