Like this page? Click here:
Previous Title - Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 Return to Full Title List Next Title - Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 3

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [1988] (6 discs)

Composer:Jerry Goldsmith
Length:990 minutes
(16 hours 30 minutes)
MPAA Rating:UR
Sorting Category:Star Trek TV
Sorting Tub:Lima
IMDB Rating:7.7/10
Amazon Rating:4.5/5 stars
User rating sites like above
are subject to change
Google Videos
  • Action
  • Drama
  • Sci-Fi
  • Family
Available Formats:
HD DVDBlu-ray
3D Blu-rayDigital
Check for a possible RiffTrax
Click here to see list

Synopsis: Dr. Crusher leaves to head Starfleet Medical and her position is filled by the much wanting Dr. Pulaski.

Reaction: The show is still trying to find its real rhythm for this season. Replacing the very well liked Crusher with the somewhat sub-par Pulaski doesn't help the season out. In the end, though, there are a few bright spots for the season. This is also the season where the Borg are introduced.

Personal Rating: 7/10

"Measure of a Man" and "Q Who?"

Select Guest Cast
Alan Shearman => Inspector Lestrade (Elementary Dear Data)
Anne Ramsay => Ensign Clancy (as Anne Elizabeth Ramsay) (Elementary Dear Data)
Daniel Davis => Moriarty (Elementary Dear Data)
Armin Shimerman => DaiMon Bractor (Peak Performance)
Glenn Morshower => Ensign Burke (Peak Performance)
Roy Brocksmith => Sirna Kolrami (Peak Performance)
Barrie Ingham => Danilo O'Dell (Up the Long Ladder)
Jon DeVries => Prime Minister Granger (as Jon de Vries) (Up the Long Ladder)
Rosalyn Landor => Brenna O'Dell (Up the Long Ladder)
Billy Campbell => Capt. Thadiun Okona (as William O. Campbell) (The Outrageous Okona)
Joe Piscopo => The Comic (The Outrageous Okona)
Teri Hatcher => Chief B. G. Robinson (The Outrageous Okona)
Brian Brophy => Commander Bruce Maddox (The Measure of a Man)
Clyde Kusatsu => Admiral Nakamura (The Measure of a Man)
Brian Thompson => Second Officer Klag (A Matter of Honor)
Carel Struycken => Mr. Homn (Manhunt)
Majel Barrett => Lwaxana Troi (Manhunt)
Mick Fleetwood => Antedian Dignitary (Manhunt)
Robert Costanzo => Slade Bender (Manhunt)
Robert O'Reilly => Scarface (Manhunt)
Wren T. Brown => Transporter Pilot (Manhunt)
Carolyn Seymour => Subcommander Taris (Contagion)
Diedrich Bader => Tactical Crewman (as Dietrich Bader) (The Emissary)
Lance LeGault => Capt. K'Temoc (as Lance Le Gault) (The Emissary)
Suzie Plakson => K'Ehleyr (The Emissary)
Earl Boen => Nagilum (voice) (Where Silence Has Lease)
Greg Beecroft => Mickey D (as Gregory Beecroft) (The Royale)
Howie Seago => Riva (Loud as a Whisper)
Leo Damian => Adonis / Warrior (Loud as a Whisper)
Marnie Mosiman => Harmony / Balance (Loud as a Whisper)
Randy Oglesby => Artist (as Thomas Oglesby) / Scholar (Loud as a Whisper)
Jaime Hubbard => Salia (as Jamie Hubbard) (The Dauphin)
Mädchen Amick => Teenage Girl - Anya (The Dauphin)
Paddi Edwards => Anya (The Dauphin)
John de Lancie => Q (as John deLancie) (Q Who?)
Lycia Naff => Ensign Sonya Gomez (Q Who?)
John Tesh => Klingon Warrior (The Icarus Factor)
Mitchell Ryan => Kyle Riker (as Mitchell Ryan) (The Icarus Factor)
Nikki Cox => Sarjenka (Pen Pals)
R.J. Williams => Ian Andrew Troi (The Child)
Suzie Plakson => Lt. Selar, M.D. (The Schizoid Man)
William Morgan Sheppard => Dr. Ira Graves (as W. Morgan Sheppard) (The Schizoid Man)
Cliff Bole => Director
Joseph L. Scanlan => Director
Larry Shaw => Director
Les Landau => Director
Paul Lynch => Director
Rob Bowman => Director
Robert Becker => Director
Robert Iscove => Director
Robert Scheerer => Director
Winrich Kolbe => Director
Beth Woods => Writer
Brian Alan Lane => Writer
Burton Armus => Writer
David Assael => Writer
David Kemper => Writer
Hans Beimler => Writer
Jack B. Sowards => Writer
Jacqueline Zambrano => Writer
Jaron Summers => Writer
John Mason => Writer
Jon Povill => Writer
Leonard Mlodinow => Writer
Maurice Hurley => Writer
Melinda M. Snodgrass => Writer
Mike Gray => Writer
Richard Manning => Writer
Robert McCullough => Writer
Scott Rubenstein => Writer
Steve Gerber => Writer
Tracy Tormé => Writer
Jerry Goldsmith => Composer
Gene Roddenberry => Creator, Original Series
Brent Spiner => Lt. Commander Data
Colm Meaney => Chief Miles O'Brien
Diana Muldaur => Doctor Pulaski
Jonathan Frakes => Commander William T. Riker
LeVar Burton => Geordi La Forge
Majel Barrett => Enterprise Computer
Marina Sirtis => Counselor Deanna Troi
Michael Dorn => Lieutenant Worf
Patrick Stewart => Captain Jean-Luc Picard
Whoopi Goldberg => Guinan
Wil Wheaton => Wesley Crusher

Random Trivia For This Title:

  • Wesley Crusher takes his first name from Gene Roddenberry's middle name.
  • When a writer's strike hit the series at the start of the second season, several plots from the proposed late 70s series [Star Trek: Phase II], which was eventually dropped in favor of becoming Star Trek: The Motion Picture, were hurriedly dusted off and adapted for the Next Generation crew.
  • The Borg were originally written as insectoids, but were changed to cyborgs due to budget constraints.
  • Diana Muldaur (Dr. Pulaski) also was in two episodes of the original [Star Trek] series, playing "Dr. Miranda Jones" in the episode [{Is There In Truth No Beauty?}] and "Lt.Cmdr.Ann Mulhall, Ph.D and Thalassa" in [{Return to Tomorrow}].
  • Jonathan Frakes returned to rehearsals for the start of the second season sporting a beard that he grew for his part in North And South: Book II, with the intention of shaving it off before shooting began, but the producers liked it and asked him to keep it. It remained for the rest of the show's run. (He eventually shaves it off again for the movie Star Trek: Insurrection).
  • Billy Campbell, who played the title role in {The Outrageous Okona}, was a contender for the role of Commander Riker.
  • The sliding doors were very loud on the show and have been compared to sliding glass doors. The actors were instructed to hold their dialogue until the doors stopped; you will rarely see an actor delivering lines while a door is opening or closing.
  • Worf's prosthetic forehead (often called a ‘turtle’) changed in season 2 because the original was stolen.